Daily Prompt: Goals


When you started your blog, did you set any goals? Have you achieved them? Have they changed at all?

When I started this blog at the beginning of April 2013, I originally intended to use it to publish my old poetry and some of my favourite photographs that I had taken over the years. If I’m honest I wasn’t expecting much from it. Maybe at most, the odd comment or like here and there, with a view to pop back every now and then with some new pieces to add on.

Ultimately my goal was to share my work and see if others liked it.

What happened truthfully was that it reignited my passion for writing first and foremost. I found myself inspired to create new poetry, to express myself and wanting to share it on the blog. At first I was getting a couple of likes here and there as expected, which fuelled my interest further. From there I went onto explore WordPress and all it has to offer. Reading tips and guides on how to improve my blog, how to get more interest and response, how to interact with others on here. It was a revelation.

With a new found desire to keep improving and adding to my blog I followed the advice I had read, the comments from followers (which were increasing week by week) and took onboard everything. I changed my theme a handful of times, played around with posts, edited submissions and improved the way my blog ran.

Now I am focused I find myself on here daily. If I am not posting a new poem, or submitting an entry for a daily/weekly challenge, I check the Reader, or the Daily Post. Have a browse through Freshly Pressed. I think it’s fair to say that my initial ‘goal’ was met quite early on, but with keeping a blog, I find the ‘goal’ shifts and you find yourself wanted to fulfil another one. That in turn inspires you to create, and interact and also build a better platform to showcase your work, whether for yourself or for others.

My new/next goal is to create an ongoing piece of online fiction to expand the interest on my blog, to create repeat views, but ultimately because it’s what I really want to do now. And once I manage to get that first chapter down and online here I look forward to receiving comments, sharing, and researching to make it even better.

This post is in response to:  http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/05/22/daily-prompt-goals/

Relating to this post:

http://geekergosum.com/2013/05/22/why-do-i-write-this/

http://rightdownmyalley.wordpress.com/2013/05/22/my-blog-goal/

http://familyphotosfoodcraft.com/2013/05/22/22-5-daily-prompt-goals/

http://pheliorandom.wordpress.com/2013/05/22/lets-do-some-diggings/

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

17 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Goals

  1. […] Daily Prompt: Goals | mattsden101 […]

  2. […] Daily Prompt: Goals (mattsden101.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] Daily Prompt: Goals (mattsden101.wordpress.com) […]

  4. […] Daily Prompt: Goals (mattsden101.wordpress.com) […]

  5. […] Daily Prompt: Goals | mattsden101 […]

  6. […] Daily Prompt: Goals | mattsden101 […]

  7. […] Daily Prompt: Goals | mattsden101 […]

  8. […] Daily Prompt: Goals | mattsden101 […]

  9. […] Daily Prompt: Goals | mattsden101 […]

  10. […] Daily Prompt: Goals (mattsden101.wordpress.com) […]

  11. […] Daily Prompt: Goals (mattsden101.wordpress.com) […]

  12. […] Daily Prompt: Goals | mattsden101 […]

Leave a Reply

