Time Was – A Poem


Time was when I was a different man

As I take these steps through a foreign land

A journey travelled with an open mind

A past of longing I have left behind.

Time was when I knew a different me

But I knew that was not the way to be.

Breaking boundaries with my creative mind.

Excited at the prospects I have yet to find.

I’m travelling alone, but I don’t feel so lost

Cos I got myself together without paying the cost.

These words are my therapy and that’s all I need.

A way to breakthrough, and a way to succeed.

Time was when I was a different man

But I’m happy with life, now I have a new plan.

© Matthew T. Aspden

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

